Title

Ken's Blue Blog
Musings on "the bleedin' obvious"; views on the meaning of life, or anything else that takes my fancy.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Signals As a Form of Diplomacy

Signals can be a very effective tool within the diplomatic bag. However, it is wise to remember two things:

1 The recipient may misinterpret or over react to the signals, and

2 The signaller must be careful not to box himself in, in the event the recipient ignores the signals.

Monday, April 24, 2017

Doubling Down

Doubling down only works if you have greater resources (health, arms, time and money) than the "house" against which you are doubling down.

Friday, April 21, 2017

Bluffs

Bluffs in poker are not terribly effective, and indeed are counter-productive, if they are outed before the final hand!

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Diplomacy

You know that diplomacy has hit rock bottom, when phrases such as "don't mess with us" are used.

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Gunboat Diplomacy

Gunboat diplomacy is only really effective if your gunboat actually turns up in the area you wish to pressurise!

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Face

Beware small countries run by small men who value face more than their lives.

Monday, April 10, 2017

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

The Dangers of Misspeaking

At times of international crisis a few miss-chosen words, or no words at all, can lead to catastrophe.

Tuesday, April 04, 2017

Experts Are Their Own Worst Enemy

Self appointed "experts" and talking heads are invariably wrong at predicting the timing of certain events.

For why?

Because they open their mouths in public, thereby giving those who are in charge of certain events the opportunity and motivation to wrong foot them!